New CEO Receives Australia Day Honour

ADAQ is absolutely delighted that newly appointed Chief Executive Office for the Australian Dental Association QLD Branch (ADAQ), Professor Ian Meyers (BDSc, FICD, FADI, FPFA, FRACDS) has been recognised in the Australia Day Honours List with the award of a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for his service to dentistry, to professional associations, and to tertiary education.  On behalf of ADAQ Council, Members and Staff we offer Ian our most sincere congratulations on this very well deserved honour.  Professor Meyers will formally commence his role as CEO at ADAQ on 9 February, a position which, by all accounts, will be a natural progression for him with more than 35 years membership of the Association, and many years of dedicated service to the profession as a whole. Professor Meyers graduated from the University of Queensland (BDSc) in 1982 with First Class Honours and the Carlisle C. Bastian prize for Operative Dentistry.  He entered full-time work in 1983 and worked in both the public and private sectors until 2009 when he became the Chief Dental Officer at Queensland Health.  He returned to full-time private practice dentistry from 2010 until moving into the ADAQ CEO position in 2017.  He is a Fellow of the International College of Dentists (FICD), Fellow of the Academy of Dentistry International (FADI), Fellow of the Pierre Fouchard Academy (FPFA) and Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Dental Surgeons (FRACDS). 

He has been an active member of both the state based ADAQ and ADA Federal body since graduating, entering the state Council in 1990 and becoming President in 2009.  He has contributed actively to dentistry through his membership of many ADA committees including as Chairman of the Queensland Branch’s Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Committee and Chairman of the Federal Dental Instruments, Materials and Equipment (DIME) Committee.  Professor Meyers has also been heavily involved in the Australian Dental Research Foundation as a Member since 2001 and Chairman from 2010-2014 and has lectured at the University of Queensland since 1988 where he has been an Honorary Professor since 2009.  In 2010, he was also appointed as an Honorary Professor at James Cook University.

His appointment as CEO of the professional association for dentists in Queensland will enable him to draw on his diverse experience and extensive academic credentials to progress the profession and to guide the Association in the future.  His passion for learning and education will be felt throughout the almost 4,000 Membership and in turn will enrich the profession and the quality of dentistry for all Queenslanders.