About ADAQ

The Australian Dental Association (Queensland Branch) (ADAQ) is the professional association for Dentists in Queensland. We represent more than 4000 members across the State.

Our advocacy and services aim to promote excellence in the profession through a range of services, including: the provision of Professional Indemnity (PI) Insurance, support and advice regarding PI claims, CPD events, dental assistant training, and dental practice advisory advice.

ADAQ Constitution

Please click here for the ADAQ Constitution .

ADAQ Members

ADAQ Members are dentists and dental specialists from a variety of backgrounds who work across the private and public sectors.

Undergraduate students studying to become a dentist in Queensland may join ADAQ as a student member at no charge.

Dental hygienists, dental therapists, oral health therapists, dental assistants and dental technicians have their own associations and are therefore not eligible for membership of the Australian Dental Association

ADAQ History

1905 – 1927

The Australian Dental Association Queensland Branch (ADAQ) has its origins in The Odontological Society of Queensland, a professional body formed at a meeting held on Tuesday, 14 March 1905 where a number of metropolitan dentists met by arrangement in a colleague's rooms. They resolved that a Dental Society be formed, to be called The Odontological Society of Queensland. The objectives of the Society were to be the promotion of good fellowship and the advancement of the dental profession generally.

In 1905, a State Dental Conference was held in Brisbane. This was the first of its kind in Australia.

ADAQ has the recorded history by way of minutes of meetings from 1908 onwards, which can be found at our Brisbane Office in our Dental History Museum.

1928 – 1952

In 1928, a national dental body, the Australian Dental Association, came into being after considerable negotiation between the states. Mr W. R. Parker from Queensland became the first Federal President.

Dr C. A. Street who was President of the Odontological Society of Queensland at the time then became ADAQ's first President.

The ADAQ Memorandum and Articles of Association were later adopted at a meeting on 27 July 1928, and the first Annual Meeting was held on 29 November 1928 which was attended by 64 members with 23 apologies.

The Society's practice was to have an Annual Conference at the same time as the Annual Meeting, two to three days being allotted to papers, clinics and discussions. To this day the practice is followed by ADAQ's Annual Clinic Day, Annual General Meeting and Annual Dinner all on one day; currently the last Friday in November.

1953 - 2000

On 10 December 1953, ADAQ established its first committee on 'Fluoridation'. Its aim was 'to facilitate the fluoridation of public water supplies in Queensland'.

On 22 July 1963, ADAQ became registered as a Union of Employers in Queensland.

2001 – Present

On 14 March 2001, ADAQ became a Registered Training Organisation.

On 8 February 2007, ADAQ Union of Employers became transitionally registered in the Federal jurisdiction.

On 27 November 2009, at the Annual General Meeting, members resolved to adopt a new constitution for ADAQ as the professional body for all registered dentist members. At the same time, in order to meet revised requirements for ongoing registration as a Union of Employers, new Rules for the Australian Dental Association (Queensland Branch) Union of Employers were accepted.